California’s Voluntary Massage LawFriday, September 4th, 2009
California has finally passed a voluntary massage law that will help massage therapists avoid the pitfalls of having to get a massage license from every jurisdiction that they work in. Before this law was passed therapists would have to get a massage license from every city or county that they did massage in. Therapists will now be able to get a state license to practice massage in any city or county in California. The massage board is now operational and accepting applications so if you want to avoid the headaches of getting a license in every city you work in, get your state license. You will see that there are two levels of massage practitioners. A 250 hour level and a 500 hour level of education defines these two levels.